Home > health & safety > Nose bleeding as a sign of hypertension

Nose bleeding as a sign of hypertension

“Yolly, what is this?” the frantic voiced I heard pass 2:00am of August 22, 2008. I saw my father pinching his bloodied nose as more traces of fresh blood was on the floor. I pretended to be calmed in dealing with such an emergency. I let him sit and dabbed clean his bloodied nose while scanning our old medical book for information. I told my father to pinch his nose against the bones of his face using his thumb and index finger, then lean slightly with his head tilted forward. Teasing him about his failure to take an early morning bath eased the panicked in his eyes. Although it was a cold morning, my father took a bath. I did not tell him though that nose bleeding is also one sign of hypertension.

Insisting on manning his store instead of taking some rest, my father opened his store at 6:35am. By 8:15am, my son informed me about the incessant bleeding (again) from my father’s nose. I called my sister to check his blood pressure. The 80 over 100 reading was enough to comfort us.

A laboratory tests for ECG, urinalysis, CBC and X-ray was done on August 28.

My father is now 74 years old and counting. Although he sometimes can’t control his anger, this incident taught us to be more careful with our own health, and yes, the importance of saving for the “rainy days”

  1. May 5, 2010 at 12:03 am

    Undoubtfully great blog u got here. I’d like to read something more concerning that matter. Thanks for posting such data.

    Ellie Thomas
    Industry supplier

  2. June 8, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    Undoubtfully cool story you have here. It’d be just great to read more about this theme. Thanx for posting that data.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

