Home > Family, health & safety > What is Mid-life Crisis?

What is Mid-life Crisis?

Discontented with life, too many problems, children are no longer exciting, feeling bored…blah…blah…blah…How will you treat this kind of thinking? Hmmm…oopsss, I’m not referring to myself. I love my children very much. I’m referring to those who are experiencing  Midlife crisis.

What exactly is midlife crisis?

According to Wikipedia, “Midlife crisis is a period of dramatic self-doubt that is felt by some individuals in the “middle years” of life, as a result of sensing the passing of youth and the imminence of old age. Sometimes, transitions experienced in these years, such as aging in general, menopause, the death of parents, or children leaving home, can trigger such a crisis. The result may be a desire to make significant changes in core aspects of day to day life or situation, such as in career, marriage, or romantic relationships.”

My sister’s daughter told me yesterday that her mother was having an “impossible” tantrums. My sister was telling her children that she will leave them for good, she don’t like them anymore, she hates her husband, anything that has something to do with her husband was a turn off. I told Chriselle to understand her mother.

Long time no see

I did not see my sister for almost 17 years now. During the wake of my mother last 2003, she was not present because of financial constraints. After one year, she went to Singapore as a domestic helper but was not that lucky with her employer. She was lucky though to return alive (without any penny in her pocket.) She worked for almost a year with no compensation. It was me who fed her family. But at least I’m happy she returned safely and was again reunited with her family.

Not the other way around

I don’t want to think the other way around. I instead prefer to call it midlife crisis. My younger sister was experiencing this “era” of life. Me and Liza would like to help her, but she is an hour plane-travel-drive. We agreed to call and text her regularly. Although this is not enough, at least as her sisters, we care, really care.

If money and time is available, I will visit her and personally talk.

Categories: Family, health & safety
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

